汽车

揉合灵活与坚毅的销售学

捷成员工
事业发展
卓越成就
陆明 – 捷成汽车上海浦西保时捷中心副总经理

众所周知,双子座拥有双重性格,在我加入捷成汽车工作14年后,愈来愈明白看似矛盾的性格,如果揉合运用得宜的话,就能让人在销售行业大展拳脚。

我很喜欢改变,同时却又很坚持,是否很矛盾?像我最初任职另一个4S汽车品牌,明明很享受那份工作,但当直属上司提及更高端的品牌捷成汽车因业务扩充要聘人,我便很憧憬一个崭新的挑战,也想更灵活应对不同任务,因此我大胆地接受了推荐,经过三轮面试后加入保时捷团队。

当决定好选择之后,便会竭力去坚持,这是与生俱来的性格,就像有人觉得游泳这项运动枯燥乏味,但我却偏爱长距离游泳。

我任职上海浦西保时捷中心副总经理,负责整个中心的运营管理,协助总经理达成年度业务销量和利润。

保时捷的营销特色是满足客户的个性化定制需求,实现起来何尝不是一场耐力赛?

令我最记忆深刻的是在2014年,一位超级VIP客户要求再个性化定制一台911 Turbo S Cabriolet,但不管是车身颜色还是内饰细节,他的需求都远远超出了PVMS系统的常规配置选择范围,甚至连客户本人都不确定这些需求能否全部变为现实。

这份客户需求和挑战令我亢奋,在保时捷中国总部的安排协助下,我直接联络到保时捷德国跑车生产部门的主管,将这位客户的要求鉅细无遗地转述,经过持续一年多的反复沟通和验证,这台全球独一无二的911 Turbo S Cabriolet定制车终于面世。

那一刻,我为自己突破常规而兴奋,客户也为自己的梦想跑车成真而开心,可谓皆大欢喜。

因此,我很欣慰于自己的双重性格,让我一方面能坚持提升业务表现,也常鼓励同事不断学习,以协助客户体验到极具个性的保时捷定制特色;另一方面,也能帮助自己灵活应对瞬息万变的市场局势。

今天汽车市场竞争与日俱增,一来因为授权销售网点不断增加,二来传统客户愈来愈倾向在4S店购车,再加上新冠疫情对整个行业带来冲击。不过我始终认为环境变化可以令人更加自强不息,此刻我们更需要全盘考虑公司正常运营及员工收入之间的平衡,让雇佣双方携手共渡难关。

其实除了游泳之外,我还很喜欢音乐。音乐让我在紧张的工作之余得到精神上的舒缓。我在管理方面也带点双重性格,一方面我对员工的业绩考核非常严格,另一方面又爱跟员工互通家常,在他们遇上困难时争取雪中送炭。这种松紧结合的管理风格铸造了我们强大的团队凝聚力。我也有幸在捷成结识了很多优秀的同事,大家目标一致,迎难而上。

26岁满怀憧憬加入捷成汽车,今天我已40岁但仍觉得干劲十足。捷成集团也展现出了一家百年优秀企业的深厚底蕴,在过去的十多年间保时捷品牌也在中国内地取得了辉煌的发展,这些都证明了我跟这个事业平台一拍即合,可谓青春无悔,心怀感恩。

Motors

Being Steady Whilst Flexible: A Winning Sales Combination

People
Development
Excellence
Peter Lu – Deputy General Manager, Porsche Centre Shanghai Puxi, Jebsen Motors

Geminis are known to have a double personality. Since joining Jebsen Motors 14 years ago, I have become more and more aware of the value of my seemingly conflicting personality in my work. I find that if used properly, this contradiction can give people a chance to shine, particularly in the sales industry.

While I am fond of change, I am also very persistent. Sounds contradictory, doesn’t it? Before joining Jebsen I was working at another 4S car brand and I loved my job there, and wouldn’t have thought then about leaving it. But when my supervisor there mentioned opportunities with the higher-end Jebsen Motors, I was ultimately drawn to the challenge. I also wanted to learn to be more flexible in handling different tasks. I boldly accepted my supervisor’s recommendation, and after three rounds of interviews, I became part of the Porsche team.

Once I decide on something, I persevere in pursuing it. This determination is something I believe has been cultivated in me throughout childhood. It also explains why I enjoy long-distance swimming—it’s one of those exercises that teaches you to persist.

This never-give-up attitude permeates my job as Deputy General Manager of Porsche Centre Shanghai Puxi, where I am responsible for the entire centre’s operation and management. Porsche’s unique selling proposition is fulfilling the customers’ need for personalisation and customisation. To help the General Manager achieve annual sales and profit targets, I need to commit to the endurance race that characterises this hugely customer-oriented work.

I remember a super VIP customer back in 2014 who requested to customise a 911 Turbo S Cabriolet. His requirements were far beyond the conventional configuration options, and even the customer himself was not even sure that his request was feasible.

The customer’s demand was indeed a challenge, but it wasn’t a mission impossible. With the help of Porsche China Headquarters, I was able to get in touch with the head of Porsche’s German sports car production department, and a unique and custom-made 911 Turbo S Cabriolet—the one exactly requested by the customer—came to life after a year of negotiation and effort.

At that moment, I was extremely excited for having broken through the routine. An even bigger achievement: the customer was very happy about his dream-come-true sports car.

This is just one of those work experiences that made me grateful for my dual personality, and my habit of persevering while aiming to chart new frontiers. Day to day, I am able to keep improving business performance using solutions we’re familiar with, while also encouraging my colleagues to learn and try new things as we deliver highly personalised Porsche custom features to customers.

We’ll need this flexibility to respond to rapidly changing market needs. Today’s auto market has become increasingly competitive, with the rise in number of authorised sales outlets, and traditional customers preferring to purchase cars in at 4S centres. What’s more, the new coronavirus pandemic has impacted the entire industry. Then again, I find that changes like these make us stronger, and right now our priority is to work together to achieve a healthy balance in our operations, and overcome these challenges together as a company.

Besides swimming, I also enjoy the quieter pastime of music. Music allows my mind to relax after a serious and intense day of wading through work challenges. In the same spirit, my double personality is also reflected in my management style. I can be serious and strict especially when evaluating employee performance, but I can also be a friend who just loves to communicate with my people. This combination of firm and relaxed management styles has created a cohesive and powerful team. Outside my team, I am fortunate to have also met many outstanding colleagues at Jebsen. Everyone shares the same goal and are growing through diverse challenges.

I remember looking forward to joining Jebsen Motors when I was 26 years old. Today, I am 40 years old, and am still full of the same energy I felt back then. I’ve witnessed firsthand how the Jebsen Group has sustained its heritage of excellence. The Porsche brand has achieved brilliant growth across China in the last decade, and I am proud to have been part of this achievement. For all of these wonderful opportunities over the years, and more, I am grateful.