饮料

勇往直前,突破障碍

卓越成就
捷成员工
黄学堃 – 捷成啤酒营业总经理

在品牌忠诚度很高的啤酒市场中,一旦顾客爱上了某个品牌,要说服他们去尝试其他牌子是非常困难的。像我一样从事啤酒销售的人都知道,要令客户改变主意绝不容易,除非你真正了解市场及目标客户。

正正是因为这些挑战,让我在捷成啤酒的工作变得更有意义。销售不仅是要留意销售数据,它的成功主要取决于你有否关注客户需求,以及有否付出的持之以恒的努力。

我职业生涯大部分时间都花在啤酒的市场营销,只是近年才开始从事销售工作。总销售经理一职让我有机会更加贴近客户和前线销售人员,按需要及时调整销售策略,让团队获得最大程度的成功。此外我还学懂了一件事:要在一些口味和品牌忠诚度根深蒂固的市场里成功销售产品,我需要学会克服多重障碍。

捷成旗下拥有蓝妹和Hoegaarden等强大啤酒品牌,但从事销售工作不久的我已经明白,单凭这一点并不足以确保我们可以取得骄人业绩。我最深深体会的一次,是我们尝试与一家大型中菜集团达成合作,他们当时已拥有其他品牌的啤酒采购管道,对于转到我们的品牌很有保留。

但我们相信,凡事皆有可能。

我们努力向这客户介绍我们的品牌,带他们参观售卖我们代理品牌啤酒的餐厅,以多种方式让他们知道捷成啤酒是更好的选择。经过团队两年的努力,客户的态度有所软化,而我们的付出也得到了回报:现在客户集团的所有餐厅都在出售捷成啤酒旗下的各种国际啤酒品牌。

面对千变万化的客户喜好及激烈的市场挑战,我们的工作永远不能有丝毫懈怠。每天我和团队都努力寻找更好、更有创意的方法去满足顾客需瞬息万变的要求。最近香港对健康和安全方面的担忧呈蔓延之势,外出的人愈来越少,大部分人都不会与朋友和同事前往酒吧或餐厅聚会。这个情况之下,我们何不把喝啤酒的乐趣直接送到顾客的家中呢?因此我们目前正尝试与本地外卖送餐服务企业合作,协助酒吧和餐厅提供更佳的送餐服务。

虽然啤酒粉丝对喜爱的品牌具有一定忠诚度,但我们明白顾客始终也在寻觅最好的产品,总会着眼于更高质素的产品和服务。正因如此,我们要常用创意提高客户的满意度,不能安于现状,要不断构思创新的思念和合作机会,才能为顾客带来惊喜。

当然,没有我团队的支持,以上这些功夫是不会成功的。我的工作不仅是销售啤酒而已,我还负责客户管理工作和与我们的优秀营销团队合作。尽管我们各自的能力和经验有所不同,但我们在共同目标上的看法一致。每次我去跟新的客户进行销售谈判总是充满信心,因为我知道团队中的每个人都会努力实现我们所订立的目标,不论是突破各种传统障碍,或是深耕我们多年来获得的品牌忠诚度,我相信我和团队都一定能携手达成。

Beverage

Breaking Through Barriers

People
Excellence
Frankie Wong – General Sales Manager, Jebsen Beer

Brand loyalty is big in the world of beer. When a person already likes a certain brand, convincing them to try something else can feel like moving mountains. If your work involves selling beer as I do, you will realise quickly that trying to persuade people to switch is a losing battle unless you really know what your market is.

It is challenges like these that make my work as General Sales Manager at Jebsen Beer worthwhile. Sales is not just about understanding sales figures, after all. Most of what makes it work depends on your attentiveness to the customer’s needs and plain old tenacity.

I spent most of my career in the beer industry in marketing. It was only a few years ago that I transitioned to sales. This role brought me much closer to our customers and frontline salespeople, allowing me to fine-tune and maximise the success of my team’s sales strategies. It also opened me up to the realities of breaking through barriers in markets where certain tastes and brands are deeply entrenched.

I understood quickly that while Jebsen has a strong beer portfolio with brands like Blue Girl and Hoegaarden, that alone is not enough to guarantee sales success. I learned this firsthand when we tried to secure a deal with a large-scale Chinese restaurant group. As they were already sourcing their beer elsewhere, it proved to be difficult to convince them to switch to our brands.

But difficult does not mean impossible.

So my team put in the hard work by educating them about our brands, touring them around our sites, and convincing them in so many ways that Jebsen Beer was worth the switch. Their reluctance softened over the past two years, and our hard work paid off—they now carry our diverse portfolio of internationally acclaimed beer brands.

Facing changing customer preferences and general market challenges means there’s never a boring day at work. Each day, my team and I try to find better, more innovative ways to respond to the changing tastes and needs of our customers. With current widespread health and safety concerns in Hong Kong, for example, fewer people are choosing to go out and spend time with their friends and colleagues in bars and restaurants. So why not bring the fun to them instead? This is why we are looking into opportunities to work with local food delivery services, creating new modes of product delivery to our clients and in turn enabling them to serve their clients better with direct food and service delivery.

While beer drinkers are loyal to their beer brands, we know that they are savvy and are always keeping an eye out for something better. Because of this, we need to be creative in keeping our customers satisfied. This means never being limited by the status quo and continuing to explore unique ideas or collaborations that surprise and delight people. 

Of course, none of these would be possible without my supportive team. My work goes beyond sales, after all—I also work on account management and collaborate with our talented marketing teams. While we all bring our unique gifts and experiences to the table, we see eye-to-eye on the bigger, common goals. That’s what keeps me confident as I go out and brave every sales negotiation—the knowledge that everyone on the team will always be working hard to meet the objectives that we set out, from breaking through traditional barriers to nurturing the loyalty our brands have earned throughout the years.