物流

從零開始,建立可能

事業發展
捷成員工
鄧永傑 – 捷成物流助理物流經理

「天下無難事,只怕有心人。」每當遇到看似不可能的挑戰,我都會想起這句話。

以前的我是一介文弱書生,曾在上班時昏倒,需要住院兩天,因此那時候的我總覺得這句話並不適用於我身上。當時辦公室裡張貼了一張龍舟比賽的集訓海報,我當然自覺這跟自己風馬牛不相及,也從沒想過自己會投入運動。

不過,做運動的確能強身健體,所以孱弱的我還是被同事說服了去參加訓練。一開始的確是很辛苦,讓我很想打退堂鼓,但現在的我卻愛上了這項運動,尤其是當我見到由乳癌康復者組成的龍舟隊越戰越強,更激勵我全心投入這項「不可能」的挑戰:如果她們做得到,我怎麼可能做不到呢?

很快我就發現,只要我可以從無到有練出體力,自然也能練成任何功夫。而這幾年我在工作上也確實從零開始學會了許多技能,例如掌握不熟悉的工作技術知識,或是為工作場所建立更順暢的營運。

其實我在加入捷成之前就開始養成了這個從零學起的習慣。以前我在一間電腦維修中心的物流部門上班,發現當我一邊把倉庫管理得井井有條、提高效率,一邊上網閱讀資料學習物流知識,的確能事半功倍。

我在2010 年第一次加入捷成,擔任物流文員。我的首要任務跟以前一樣,也是打造一個能促進效率的空間,於是我整頓了長沙灣倉庫,把產品規劃得更有條理;在職時也盡我所能,吸收新知識和接受培訓,希望能為團隊做出更多貢獻。經過不斷努力,原本對物流管理一無所知的我最後也取得物流及供應鏈管理專業文憑,以及其他在物流業的專業認證。

我在捷成的工作經驗,也有助提升我的各方面的知識。調到火炭倉庫後,我負責的範圍也從墨水匣和印刷材料,轉為消費業務的數碼產品和酒類產品,這也讓我踏進全新的領域。

離開捷成後,我曾短暫轉到其他公司工作以增進知識和技能,當時的我發現在捷成累積的五年物流和供應鏈經驗給了我極大的幫助。我嘗試了物流業和供應鏈其他範圍的工作,也學習了倉儲管理系統的運作。

捷成的前上司和同事與我亦師亦友,縱使我轉到其他公司工作也保持聯絡、偶然相聚。2018 年11 月,捷成飲料和物流業務聯手管理的長沙灣的潤發倉庫正籌備開幕,我得到同事們的極力推薦,因此決定再度加入捷成擔任助理物流經理,回到我熟悉的團隊當中,好好運用我對於庫存和供應鏈系統的知識,為集團這個重要的新里程碑出一分力。

回到捷成,很多東西也是從零開始。我們需要引進改良的存貨交易流程,並和啤酒業務的車隊合作、協調和推動以倉儲管理系統為基礎的工作流程作出調整。雖然這些涉及重整和改變舊有做法的改革都不易施行,但有賴總經理和同事的支持,我都能樂觀應對每一項挑戰。

我深信,我今天能走到這裡,都是憑著捷成這個大家庭的對我能力的信任。集團給予員工機會摸索各種解決之道,包括嘗試新的規劃方向、做法和思維。我很感激我的主管總是耐心十足,也願意採納建議;我也有幸與學有專精、善於團隊合作的同事們共事,他們秉持著事在人為的積極精神,而這也正是捷成全體共享的精神。

無論是打造一個團隊、建立一個流程,或是習得新技能,能夠將「無」變成「有」,都是一個奇妙的體驗。只要我們努力不懈,並從彼此身上帶出正能量,就能證明「天下無難事,只怕有心人」的道理,而這個也正是我每天工作的動力。

Logistics

Building Possibilities from Scratch

Development
People
Ricky Tang – Assistant Logistics Manager, Jebsen Logistics

“Make things happen.” It’s a phrase I hear often in the context of seemingly impossible feats.

For a guy who was so physically unfit to have once fainted at work and hospitalised for two days, I didn’t think it was possible for me to pursue these three words, especially as I was looking at a poster of a Jebsen Dragon Boat training one day in the office.

Despite my personal inhibitions, a colleague convinced me to try it out. Yes, it was challenging at first, but I eventually fell in love with the sport. Coming across a Dragon Boat team of breast cancer survivors motivated me further to pursue this “impossible” feat passionately. If they could do it, why shouldn’t I?

I soon discovered that if I could build physical strength from nothing, I absolutely can build anything. Over the years, I did find myself building things from the ground up, whether it was my technical knowledge over an unfamiliar job, or the foundation for smoother workplace operations.

This habit of making things happen turned up in the workplace even before I joined Jebsen, when I was working in a logistics office of a computer repair centre. There, I discovered that effective work starts from a foundation of a neat and organised warehouse. It was also there that I began building my logistics knowledge by reading online.

When I first joined Jebsen as Logistics Officer in 2010, I again focused on creating a space where efficiency can thrive. That means tidying the Cheung Sha Wan warehouse to facilitate more organised product planning, and acquiring as much knowledge and training as I could on the job so I can better contribute to the team. I gradually went from knowing little about logistics management, to earning a Professional Diploma in Logistics and Supply Chain Management as well as other certificates that demonstrate my expertise in the field. 

Working at Jebsen provided me with a breadth of experience that stretched my intellectual capacities. When I was given the opportunity to transfer to the Fo Tan warehouse, I transitioned from handling print cartridges and materials to a completely new world of consumer digital products and wines.

My five-year logistics and supply chain Jebsen experience became very useful when I moved briefly to other companies to expand my knowledge and skillsets. During my time away from Jebsen, I immersed myself in other parts of the supply chain and learned the workings of a warehouse management system (WMS).

Colleagues at Jebsen are more than mere co-workers – they are a group of genuine friends I often kept in touch and got together with even though I switched to work elsewhere. In November 2018, as Jebsen Beverage and Jebsen Logistics were gearing up for the launch of our new Yuen Fat Warehouse in Cheung Sha Wan, I, strongly encouraged by my peers, decided to re-join Jebsen as Assistant Logistics Manager. I saw it as a perfect opportunity for me to apply my enhanced knowledge on inventory and supply chain systems, working with a team I knew and loved.

In my new position I once again had the opportunity to build things from scratch. These included introducing improved stock-trading procedures as well as coordinating and driving WMS-based workflow changes through collaboration with the Beer Van Sales team. As with anything that involves a reframing of existing procedures, these changes were not easy to execute, but my colleagues’ and General Manager’s support kept me optimistic about every challenge.

I don’t think I could have gotten to where I am today without the Jebsen community’s trust in my talents. The Group gives its people opportunities to explore solutions, including new setups and ways of doing and thinking. I am grateful to be led by managers who are always patient and open to suggestions, and to work with people who are not only technically skilled, but who share the same can-do spirit that permeates across the Group.

Being able to build anything from zero, be it a team or a process or one’s skills, is nothing short of amazing. I am driven every day by the validation that anything can be achieved, as long as we stay diligent and draw strength from those who cheer us on.