集团

开始的勇气

捷成员工
事业发展
卓越成就
蔡洁雯 – 捷成集团企业发展及房地产投资总监

我偶尔会在繁忙的日常生活中抽出时间,弹弹钢琴。从未曾接受过专业钢琴训练的我,很享受逐个音符练习的过程,至今也靠自学学会了演奏多首古典乐曲。

在捷成工作这15年里,我学懂了一个道理:跟学钢琴一样,要做一件从未做过的事情,你所需要的只是开始的勇气。

正是这种勇气,一直帮助我应对工作上的挑战以及不熟悉的领域,包括我目前管理、以前在工作还未接触过的房地产业务。

我的专业背景是测量,于2005年加入捷成的企业策略及发展部门。一直以来,部门为配合地区整体业务发展不断增长,尝试捕捉各种商业机会。随着捷成汽车迅速增长,我们需要在各个有关区域加快建立完善的4S中心,而当时我就是朝着这个目标,正式担任集团企业发展的总经理。

要建立一个能够帮助公司在国内扩展业务的专业房地产团队,对我来说就好比第一次读琴谱般富挑战性。

房地产投资是一个全新的业务,一开始就有许多结构性的问题需要解决。我要尽快学会房地产相关知识、努力工作,跳出自己能力的框框。尤其是当时我们还没有新的政策、指导方针和流程标准,因此在各方面也让我感到困难重重。

时至今日,我的团队已经在香港、澳门和中国大陆成功完成了13个项目,另外还有三个4S中心正在建设中。

要是有人问我如何做到,我会说:我只是决定了开始,然后在过程中不断学习。在集团管理层的信任和支持下,我迎难而上,奋力打造一支优秀、专业的房地产团队。

由于项目的需求非常高,我的团队不仅要有办事能力,还要能适应变化。一开始我对于如何组织业务结构和建设团队文化充满疑惑,亦不清楚应如何管理一支专业团队。捷成一贯重视诚信,我也以这样的管理方针为鉴,逐渐找到合适的人选,也开始打造可以灵活适应业务变化的团队架构。

工作跟弹琴一样,都是熟能生巧。这段经历让我磨练自己,让我更能掌握人事管理方面的技巧,也使我与团队实现一个个看似不可能完成的里程碑,包括在深圳的第一个新建项目。

集团管理层对我的信心加强了我的自信和动力,令我在指导员工的同时,也提升了自己在端对端房地产管理方面的专业技能。刚开始担任这份工作时,我多是见机行事,边做边学,而现时我们整个团队一直进步,能力也有所增长,回想起来我有时仍会感到难以置信!目前我们的专长已扩展到很多不同的范畴,包括为新的合作伙伴提供合并和收购、物业收购和项目管理支持,而我们在最近一个中国大陆自有仓储公司的投资项目中,就有提供这些服务。

我很高兴能够在捷成工作,让我有机会不断学习,能面对众多的挑战,当中我最感恩是有一班优秀的同事,他们在所有项目的功劳是最大的。每当回想起这些,我总会想起自己演奏肖邦的夜曲最后一个音符时所感受到的喜悦。虽然要花大量时间和精力去练习,但成功弹奏一首乐曲总令人振奋不已;同样地,我在捷成的工作虽然充满挑战,但也激励我勇敢开始、奋力向前,期望带领大家一起共同成长进步。

Group

Daring to Start

People
Development
Excellence
Lilliana Choi – Director, Corporate Development and Real Estate Investments, Jebsen Group

There are times when I would slip out of the daily grind and sit in front of the piano. Although without professional training, I had learned to play classical pieces on my own, playing the instrument one key at a time.

In my fifteen years of working at Jebsen, I have learned that all it takes to do something you’ve never done before is just that: the courage to begin.

This confidence has certainly helped me traverse unfamiliar territories in my line of work, including Real Estate, an area I am managing at present – and a novel path in my career.

I joined Jebsen Group’s Corporate Strategy and Development arm in 2005 from Surveying background. Since then, the department’s role expanded to seize business growth opportunities in the region. With Jebsen Motors becoming one of the fastest growing business lines at Jebsen, we also needed to make sure that we have ample and well-structured service centres (4S centres) set up in the right locations. To help set this in motion, I officially took on the role of General Manager for Corporate Development.

The task of establishing a professional real estate team to support the expansion projects in China was similar to attempting to read musical notes for the first time.

It was a new function to me, with many structural issues to fix, and Real Estate became a learning ground that kept me working hard, expanded my knowledge, and forced me to reach beyond myself. It was challenging in many ways, especially since we had no existing policies, guidelines, and processes to begin with. 

Fast forward to today, my team has successfully completed a total of 13 projects in Hong Kong, Macau, and Mainland China, with three more 4S centres under way.

How did I do it? I simply began, and then I learned along the way. I took on the challenge, backed by the trust and support from the Group Management, and persisted on the mission to build a great, specialised real estate team.

As the demands of the projects were high, I needed people who were not only competent but were also comfortable with change. At the beginning, I was unsure about how to build the right organisation structure and culture, and how to manage such a professional team at Jebsen. But by consistently valuing integrity as Jebsen always does, finding the right people soon became easier, as was adapting the team structure to the changing needs of the business.

Practice, indeed, makes perfect. The experience helped me harness my skills in people management, and led me to achieve incredible milestones together with my team, including the first green field project in Shenzhen.

The management’s confidence in my work fuelled mine, enabling me to coach people while advancing my know-how in end-to-end real estate management. I began this new role mostly playing by ear that even I am still surprised at how we were able to grow our capabilities as a team! Our competencies have stretched so much that we are now able to provide M&A, properties acquisition and project management support for new partners, including our recent self-storage company investment in Mainland China.

I’m glad to be part of a company that empowers me to keep learning and tackle challenges together with my team—and all the credits of project achievements should go to my team members, who are competent and outstanding, which is a big blessing to me. Sharing these achievements, I am reminded of the grateful feeling I often get when playing the last note of one of Chopin’s Nocturnes. It may have taken me tremendous time and effort to learn the pieces, but I am a better person because of it. In the same way, my work at Jebsen inspires me to begin, press on with excitement, and hopefully set the same tone for others to follow.