消费品

集大成的销售技巧

捷成员工
卓越成就
李冠辉 – 捷成消费品销售经理

羽毛球算不上瞩目的体育项目,却是我最喜欢的运动,不管我工作多么繁忙,仍然会抽空每星期练习。

打羽毛球着重心理质素和技术运用,这其实又有点像我在捷成消费品担任销售经理的工作。我于2016年加入捷成,最初任职Dyson 的助理销售经理,可以在充满包容性的工作环境经营一个家传户晓的国际品牌,实在令我大开眼界。

我们打羽毛球的首要事项是将球场四角防守得滴水不漏,而Dyson销售工作也讲究防守。如果要我打个比喻,羽毛球场底线的两个角落就是管理自己团队和留住主要客户,任何时候都不容有失。

我知道团队士气十分重要,让你在占上风时乘胜追击,遇上逆境也能坚持下去,因为只要球赛一刻未完,就可以追回落后分数。因此,我常跟团队成员坦诚交流,一起商讨销售目标,随时随地作出支持。

虽然Dyson拥有很多忠心客户,但家电品牌竞争激烈,因此我时刻不忘留住主要客户。我会细心聆听他们的意见,耐心解释公司的新政策,适时提供贴心服务,才能令他们对Dyson不离不弃。

不过,商场如球场,总是变幻莫测。过去一年,香港社会遇上不少挑战,即使我的强项是技术防守,但也要沉着应战,灵活应变,在适当时候稳守突击,才能保持公司业绩增长。

例如疫情期间,很多人的消费模式改变,例如美容家电产品销量下降,但同时社会大众十分关心家人健康,追求更先进的防疫产品。因此,我们乘时推广Dyson一系列尖端空气净化器和吸尘机等家电产品,以求这些产品保持公司业绩。

很多人在疫情期间足不出户,我们不能再像以往般依赖分店零售,而要反守为攻开拓销售渠道。因此,我们主动发掘企业客户,又跟企业销售团队协调,推出更多员工推广计划。每逢疫情稍为纾缓,很多人有报复式消费心态,我们便把握这个机会做产品推广,就像在球场上将对手发球化成反攻扣杀。

有人说过,优秀的羽毛球运动员要具备长跑手的耐力、短跑手的速度、登山者的沉着和剑士的敏捷,犹如集大成的运动技巧。我每次打完羽毛球觉得身心俱疲,就会畅饮一杯冰冻啤酒,享受那种苦尽甘来的满足感。

捷成消费品销售经理这个岗位虽然充满挑战,但在这里我可以带领一个出色的团队,在重重挑战下保持业绩增长,比赢得一场球赛更有成功感。

Consumer

Integrating the Best of Sales Techniques

People
Excellence
Paul Lee – Sales Manager, Jebsen Consumer

Badminton is not a particularly dazzling sport, but it is my favourite form of exercise. No matter how busy my work is, I always make the time to play every single week.

The game emphasises mental resilience and skill, and in a way, this echoes the character of my role as Sales Manager at Jebsen Consumer. I joined Jebsen in 2016, initially taking on the position of Assistant Sales Manager for Dyson. Working for an international household name in an inclusive and tolerant environment has been a real eye-opener for me.

The first rule of thumb in a badminton match is to make sure that the corners of the pitch are well-defended. Working in Sales at Dyson also requires good defence. If I were to employ an analogy, the two baseline corners of the badminton court are good team management and retention of key customers. These are assets that should be defended well at all costs, and at all times.

When it comes to managing my team, I always prioritse team morale. An upbeat spirit lets us press on with a victory when we have the upper hand, and persevere in the face of adversity. My team knows that as long as the game isn’t over, the score can be recovered. This is why I value regular and honest communication with team members, in discussing sales targets, and providing support when and where needed. It is all part of nurturing morale.

Although Dyson has many loyal customers, we never forget that competition is fierce among home appliance brands. We cannot afford to be complacent when it comes to keeping our key customers happy. It means I always make time to listen carefully to them, make sure they understand our new company policies, and of course provide timely and attentive service – this is what keeps them loyal to Dyson.

Alas, the market is like the court in that both are always unpredictable. Hong Kong has faced many challenges in the past year, and despite my skilled defence, I have had to remain calm and flexible, striking at appropriate intervals while keeping a good defence, in order to keep our business on a healthy growth track.

For example, spending and consumption patterns have changed during the epidemic. Sales declined for beauty appliances, but the public has become more concerned about health. More are willing to spend on advanced products for disease prevention. We grasped this opportunity, promoting a series of Dyson’s home appliances such as cutting-edge air purifiers and vacuum cleaners, maintaining sales growth in these product categories to keep our business resilient amidst market changes.

With people staying home during the epidemic, we cannot rely on branch retail as we used to. Instead, we have had to change our tactic, adopting a stance of attack rather than defence, and aggressively expanding our sales channels. We proactively sought out corporate clients and coordinated with corporate sales teams, launching additional staff promotions. Whenever the epidemic would ease up, people wanted to spend in a ‘retaliatory consumption.’ This presented prime opportunities for us, and we seized them with timely product promotions – much like turning an opponent's serve into a put-back spike on the court.

Some say that an excellent badminton player must have the endurance of a marathon runner, the speed of a sprinter, the composure of a mountaineer and the agility of a swordsman – sports skills born of integration. The game is surely exhausting, but I always find time after every badminton game to enjoy a chilled beer and the sweet satisfaction of knowing that I had exerted myself for a great game.

Being a Sales Manager at Jebsen Consumer is equally taxing. But the satisfaction that comes with leading a great team and driving business growth amidst challenges is great, and sweeter than any badminton win.