捷成资本

投资博弈的致胜之道

捷成员工
卓越成就
谢铭麟 – 捷成资本资金管理总经理

我从12岁开始已非常热爱国际象棋。还记得有一次在高中的时候,我带领国际象棋校队参赛,当时面对一个个顶尖好手,团队仍然临危不乱,运用局面优势部署应对策略,胜率节节攀升,最终荣登冠军宝座!

回顾过去,国际象棋团体赛跟我在捷成资本的工作有不少共通之处。除了要理解基本规则以外,也讲求事前准备、策划,以及资源分配和人才配置。我们要对新事物保持开放的态度,同时充分利用自身优势,并与同侪互相学习,共同成长。

我十年前加入捷成集团时,虽然捷成资本彼时尚未成立,但公司已在投资管理领域中大展拳脚,例如通过改善法律架构,扩大业务增长幅度,并且也积极推动品牌合作,落实崭新的营运模式,如成立合资生产公司。我深切意识到除了投资本身以外,找到合适的角色定位更是长远投资的关键所在。

2017年,汽车技术解决方案业务重组告一段落,不久后我获派评估和优化集团的资本组合及非营运投资项目。我们经多重评估后了解到公司的资金流动性稳健,有效债务为零,也有稳固的投资组合。其后管理层看准当中的机遇,成立捷成资本,旨在加强投资策划,进一步完善资本分配,运用既有资产基础把握未来的增长机会。尽管集团当时的投资业务经验尚浅,但我们的团队携手迎接这个挑战,踏上了捷成投资于投资的精彩旅程。

百余年的商海磨砺为捷成奠定了稳固的业务基础。作为此全新项目的开荒牛,我们的创业团队虽然面对重重难关,但集团坚实的基础引领我们迈步向前。我们首先定下我们的投资范围,将集团的长期项目整理为投资组合,积极联系行内具有领导地位的企业,并建立业务架构及相关业绩标准。捷成各个专业领域的支持团队与我们分享不少创意方案,各方人才各展所长,这些都有助于新业务的快速增长和发展。

就如同国际象棋团体赛一样,迈向成功的道路永远不会是一帆风顺的。起初,我们其中两家项目公司,均经历了一段艰难的时期,那时我们持续提供流动资金,支援公司走出困境。此外,我们团队也分别从商业和金融市场的视角提供专业意见,为公司提供估值与各种可行性分析。最终,管理层判断退场是对所有持份者的最佳选择。我们可籍此重新分配资金,集中投资其他更具潜力的项目,这恰好与国际象棋的常用策略相符牺牲数个棋子反而往往能占得先机。

自此以后,我们在各个层面都更进一步,迈向专业化。我们投资多个具有潜力的行业,包括消费产品技术、医疗保健、植物肉业务和自助式仓存服务,也与多家行业领先的企业紧密合作,例如华平投资(Warburg Pincus)和百威英博(AB Inbev),接触及获得更多资源。此外,团队也兼负多元化资产管理的工作,运用我们的流动资金建立多元化资产组合,以获得经风险调整后的最佳收益。捷成资本致力让集团资产基础更趋多元化,结合投资、合作计划及企业发展支持形成整体战略,促进各项业务增长,成为推动集团创优增值的重要助力。

成功没有必然的方程式,投资世界日新月异,在瞬息万变的市场中,任何法则都有可能被颠覆。尽管如此,我们仍需保持开放态度,行动前仔细筹划,充分发挥我们的定位优势,在长远投资部署上洞悉先机。

Jebsen Capital

Investing in the Right Gameplay

People
Excellence
Alan Tse – General Manager, Capital Management, Jebsen Capital

Ever since I was twelve years old, I’ve been a passionate chess player. I will never forget that one time when I received the chance to lead our high school team against seemingly impossible-to-beat players. After formulating a detailed table positioning strategy, our team improved the win rates and we finally won the trophy!

Now when I look back, I realise that team chess is quite similar to my current role at Jebsen Capital. Besides knowing the rules, winning also requires planning, strategising, and mobilising the right people and assets. We need to remain open-minded and play to our strengths while complementing and learning from each other.

When I first joined the Jebsen Group almost 10 years ago, Jebsen Capital was yet to be established. Nevertheless, the company has always been in the game of “investing”— investing in new legal structures to facilitate growth, in brand partnerships, and in new operating models such as joint venture manufacturing. I realised early on that positioning our roles effectively is crucial to long term success, regardless of the investment itself.

Shortly after repositioning our Mobility Solutions business in 2017, I was tasked to review and optimise the Group’s capital structure and non-operational investments. We had strong liquidity, no effective debt, and a solid investment portfolio. Consequently, our management took this opportunity to create a strategic investment arm—named “Jebsen Capital”—with the goal to further improve capital allocation and utilise our asset base to capture future growth opportunities. Despite our limited investment experience, our team began to embark this challenging yet exciting “invest in investing” journey.

Thanks to Jebsen’s century-long history of operating strong businesses, navigating the unknowns became less taxing for our startup team. We started off by defining our investment scope, carving out legacy investments into our portfolio, connecting with leading industry players, and establishing the right structure and related performance metrics. Apart from the professional support of colleagues across Jebsen, onboarding the right people, with fresh perspectives and competencies, was central to our growth and development.

Just like in team chess, the path to success is hardly ever straightforward. At the beginning, two of our portfolio companies have been struggling, which we had been providing liquidity to support its turnaround efforts. Our team looked at the commercial viability of these companies, and potential restructuring options. Ultimately, our management decided that an exit is the best outcome for all stakeholders. By acting decisively, this allowed us to re-focus and allocate capital to other more promising projects. Similar to the game of chess where sometimes one needs to sacrifice a piece or two in order to advance in the game.

Ever since, we have indeed professionalised our gameplay in multiple fronts. We invested in a diverse range of promising industries, from consumer technology to healthcare, and from plant-based meat to self-storage. We partnered up with leading industry players, such as Warburg Pincus and AB Inbev, to broaden access to resources and expertise. Additionally, we became a versatile asset manager and built multi-asset portfolios to deliver high risk adjusted returns on our buckets of liquidity. Jebsen Capital has developed itself into a solid contributor to the Group, by diversifying our overall asset base and enabling growth with our operating business lines on strategic fronts via our investments, partnerships and support.

Undoubtedly, there is no set formula for success. In the investment world, markets are ever changing, and rules can be overturned. Yet we need to remain open-minded, strategising one step at a time, and utilising our positional advantages to win endgames across our investments in the long run.