消费品

锲而不舍创奇迹

捷成员工
事业发展
卓越成就
顾澄 –捷成消费品销售经理

从小喜欢做运动,虽然今天的体育项目愈来愈五花八门,但我依然最爱游泳和跑步,因为这类传统运动能培育出锲而不舍的精神,而我一直将这种精神应用在工作上。

我在2013年加入捷成,最初因为对捷成引入的戴森(Dyson)产品很感兴趣。我负责江苏、浙江和安徽的零售市场,一方面要跟商场协调戴森店铺营运,另一方面要跟戴森策划品牌推广,大至店铺装修设计,小至一块宣传版的摆放,都要经常来来回回多番讨论。

话说回来,我的英文本来不大灵光,要我跟戴森这个国际品牌的洋人职员沟通绝非易事,但捷成对员工培训极之慷慨,我的上司一直鼓励我们要多和高层用英语沟通,让我有练习英语的机会,同时高层也可以了解前线员工的想法。

我学英语就像我游泳和跑步一样,深信只要咬紧牙关就一定会到达终点,所以我坚持上了两年的英语网课,每天花25分钟跟外国教师练习会话,一有空便用手机程序背诵英语单词。我还会把同事和上司的英语邮件读完又读,暗暗记下优雅漂亮的字句,到自己要写电邮或报告时便能手到拿来。

日常工作中我也发挥这种锲而不舍的精神。戴森在杭州万象城成立中国第一家概念店,那是杭州最高端的购物中心,商场一楼几乎涵盖国内奢侈品品牌,只有它们可以使用同一层的中庭活动场地,其他楼层的品牌从未试过在这儿举办活动,但我们很想藉此提升戴森的品牌形象。

为此,我们向商场一方提交了起码十次活动建议书,量身定制了杭州区独家活动方案,多次更改活动方案的细节。由于这样的活动从未有先例,很多人认为这次申请难以成事,但我深信有志者事竟成。经过半年的努力,杭州万象城真的准许让戴森在一楼中庭举办活动,而且还是在十一黄金周期间。

我深信机会是留给有准备的人,唯有自己比其他人付出更多,才能在同一个平台做出佳绩,就像戴森刚进驻中国时鲜为人知,今天却成为全国著名家电品牌。捷成将200多个国际品牌引入中国时,许多最初寂寂无名,何尝不是靠深耕细作令它们变得炙手可热?

在捷成工作面对殊多的挑战,但也带给我无比的满足感,因为每个员工的辛勤付出,都会获得公司的回报。2018年,我开始兼顾戴森在上海的零售业务,翌年再晋升为销售经理,负责戴森整个上海零售市场。

当然,工作除了要坚毅之外,还要掌握大形势,所以我喜欢用谦逊的心待人处事,尤其像今天互联网和大数据等令时代不断变化,人人都要反躬自省才会不断进步,因此我去年报读华东理工大学的工商管理硕士课程,希望将来可以学以致用。

我相信只有在思想和观念上求变,在职业技能上不断提升,才能乘势而上。希望通过经验累积和智慧沉淀,三年内晋升为高阶管理员。我会不断学习,而捷成正是给予我资源和经验成为最好专才的平台。

Consumer

Persevering For Miracles

People
Development
Excellence
Jack Gu – Sales Manager, Jebsen Consumer

I have loved sports ever since I was a child. While there is a plethora of sports to choose from today, swimming and running remain my favourite. I find that these traditional sports cultivate a spirit of perseverance—a spirit I have always applied to my work.

My interest in Dyson products initially drew me to join Jebsen in 2013. I was responsible for retail in Jiangsu, Zhejiang and Anhui, where I coordinated Dyson store operations with shopping malls. I also planned brand promotions with Dyson, from store design to product placement, to smaller decisions like where to place a promotional banner. To ensure that everything was executed according to plan, I had frequent and regular back-and-forth discussions with multiple parties.

This kind of coordination, especially with the foreign staff of Dyson, has not always been easy – because English was a challenge for me. Thanks to Jebsen, it was a challenge that could be addressed through the company’s extremely generous staff training. My boss also encouraged me to communicate more with senior leaders, using English. I got to practice my English while management gained greater insights into thoughts from the frontline.

My experience with learning English was very much like swimming and running. As long as I could grit my teeth and trudge on, I will eventually reach my goal. So I persevered through English online classes for two years, spent 25 minutes a day practicing with foreign teachers, and used an English vocabulary learning mobile app whenever I had free time. I would also read the English emails sent from my colleagues and supervisors, keeping a list of elegant phrases I came across, and using it as reference when I write my own emails and reports.

This drive to achieve also permeated my daily work. I recall the time when Dyson planned to set up China’s first concept store in Hangzhou The Mixc Mall, the most high-end shopping mall in Hangzhou, and we wanted to launch it with an event in the mall atrium as part of our strategy to enhance Dyson’s brand image. However, the mall’s first floor featured mostly domestic luxury brands, and only these brands could use the atrium venue where we planned to hold the event.

We submitted at least ten event proposals to the mall. We tailored our plans for the exclusive event in Hangzhou, and changed the event plan details many times, in order to convince the mall to let us have our event. Since there was no precedent for something like this, many people thought we would not succeed. But I was convinced otherwise. After half a year and a lot of negotiation, The Mixc Mall finally allowed Dyson to hold our event in the atrium—even during the National Day Golden Week!

I believe that opportunities come to those who are prepared. Only by putting in more effort than others can we fare better than others on the same playing field. Dyson first entered China a little-known brand, but has since become a highly sought-after appliance brand in the country. The story was similar for the more than 200 international brands that Jebsen brought to China. Many of them started out as unnamed brands, but have grown into established household names through the company’s meticulous planning and persistent efforts.

Working at Jebsen introduced me to different challenges, but it has also given me a great sense of satisfaction because I have seen how every employee's hard work is rewarded. In 2018, I began looking after Dyson's retail business in Shanghai, and I was promoted to Sales Manager the following year. I have since been entrusted with Dyson's entire Shanghai retail market.

Apart from persevering at work, Jebsen inspired me to keep learning and to be aware that I may not always know everything. This thinking enabled me to always chase the big picture, treat people with humility, and adapt to constant changes especially with the advancements in the Internet and big data. Driven by this growth mindset, I enrolled in the MBA programme of Shanghai International Studies University last year, and I hope that I will be able to put this new knowledge to use on the job.

I believe that by embracing change, and by constantly improving our professional skills can we find true growth. I hope that my years of experience and accumulated wisdom would place me in a senior management role within three years, so I can serve more and grow more. I will keep learning, with Jebsen guiding me and providing me the resources and experiences to become the best professional that I can be.