飲料

一支勁旅的銷售哲學

捷成員工
事業發展
卓越成就
周龍勳——捷成飲料銷售經理

我最喜歡的足球隊是英國勁旅曼聯,當年曼聯對上有出色統帥費格遜,對下有粒粒巨星的精湛技術,這樣的勁旅在球場上當然所向披靡,其實如此組合換在商界也會成績斐然。

我記得2008年加入捷成飲料擔任銷售代表時,也覺得好像加入了一支商界勁旅。藍妹啤酒早就家傳戶曉,穩佔首席地位,雖然如此,但在市場上也要面對極之激烈的競爭,全靠領導層的帶領及各前輩的教導,我很快便能融入團隊及在啤酒行業發揮所長。當然,過去幾年的艱辛,總算有所成績,亦為我帶來成長。

比起我以前銷售的產品,我覺得銷售啤酒特別有趣,一來因為我們的參與度比較大,二來啤酒客戶喜愛新鮮感,我可以為每個客戶度身策劃每年的銷售計劃,當中包括新奇有趣的推廣活動,為藍妹啤酒及客戶帶來可觀的生意額及合作關係。其中最深刻及成功的當然有酒吧的模特兒表演及換領麻雀活動,很多客戶到現在還銘記多年,那種工作滿足感真是無與倫比。隨著2015年捷成飲料與百威英博合作,加入各款有實力的啤酒品牌,可算為我自己步入另外一個層次的成長,實踐及累積更多管理上的經驗。

一支勁旅可以在芸芸球隊脫穎而出,在於它用心培訓有潛質的球員,我也有幸得到捷成的悉心栽培,在十二年間層層晉升,如今成為銷售經理。要在一個商界勁旅擔任領導角色,我當然不容有失,其中一個學習方法是參考費格遜的領導哲學。

費格遜曾經撰寫一本題為《Leading》的書,分享自己領導曼聯的經驗。他說領袖要有遠見,還要建立自信和堅定的形象,贏取別人的信任。我會為團隊建立長遠的部署,有時親身跟下屬見客,這樣就能掌握各人的強項與不足,知道怎樣發揮各人優點,提升整個團隊的業績。

贏出一場球賽只是短暫利益,唯有建立一支團結一心的團隊,才能在漫長的聯賽戰無不勝。我和同事們除了在公司開會之外,平常也會結伴飲酒聊天,團隊默契就這樣慢慢建立,很多新構思也是這樣閒聊出來。

當然,曼聯的成功也基於一群忠心的粉絲,而幸運地我的客戶對啤酒品牌也有一定忠誠度,我認為啤酒市場銷售不單是一買一賣的生意,而是要用心經營一個長遠關係。因此我的團隊不僅銷售啤酒,還負責客戶管理工作,讓客戶不斷回頭給我們生意,甚至一有新想法就第一時間就通知我們。

正如球場上有時要打逆境波,我們今年的業績因疫情遇到不少挑戰,這時就更要加強團隊之間及與客戶之間的溝通。捷成集團屹立超過一個世紀,跨過一個又一個風浪,今次的挑戰只是我們其中一個考驗,我想就好像費格遜所說,一個球隊取勝不只歸功某位教練或球員,而是整個團隊都有功勞;只要大家穿上球衣,就是互相負責、共渡時艱的好夥伴,這是我在捷成最能體會的領導學問。

Beverage

A Power Squad Sales Philosophy

People
Development
Excellence
Joseph Chow – Sales Manager, Jebsen Beverage

My favourite football team is the elite of elites – Manchester United. Back in the day, Manchester United had the great manager Alex Ferguson, and under him there were star players with superb skills. Just like how such a perfect team shines brightly on the field, a right mix of talent is also a winning formula in business.

When I first joined Jebsen Beverage as Sales Representative in 2008, it did sort of feel like joining an elite squad. Blue Girl Beer, one of the products I was responsible for selling, has been a household name and a top seller for years. But this did not mean that it had no competitors – in fact, competition was fierce. Thanks to our leadership’s guidance and the advice from various mentors at work, I quickly gained the necessary skills to navigate the industry. The past few years have been difficult, but they have also been fruitful, and certainly helped me grow.

Selling beer is much more interesting and enjoyable than what I sold in previous role. Not only do I get to be much more involved in marketing our products, but I also get to create custom sales and marketing plans to cater to our clients’ love for novelty. I have had opportunities to create exciting, creative marketing campaigns that brought in significant sales and partnerships. I particularly remember certain unique and successful campaigns, like catwalk shows at bars and mahjong set redemption promotions. Though some of these were executed years ago, many of our long-term clients still remember the campaigns, which is hugely satisfying for me. When Jebsen Beverage partnered with AB Inbev in 2015, joining a portfolio of strong beer brands, I found myself stepping into another level of growth and an opportunity to build up my management experience.

What makes a football team stand out is its diligence in training high-potential players. Likewise, I was lucky enough to be trained and nurtured at Jebsen, which led me to rise through ranks within 12 years, to my role of Sales Manager today. Sometimes, I draw inspiration from Ferguson’s leadership philosophy on leading my own team.

Ferguson once wrote a book called Leading, where he shared his experience of leading Manchester United. He talked about the need for leaders to be visionary, and the importance of exuding confidence and steadfastness as key to winning people’s trust. In my position, I make it a point to map out long-term development plans for my team. Sometimes I join my subordinates in client meetings so I can understand the strengths and weaknesses of each team member, which helps me bring out the best in everyone and improve our performance as a team.

Winning a game is a short-term gain. Only by building a united team can we win big in the long-term. Outside of work, my subordinates, colleagues and I often meet for drinks and friendly banter, solidifying our bond and sometimes, generating fabulous new ideas from our casual chats.

We also build relationships beyond our own team. A loyal fan base is an important component of Manchester United’s success, and I am glad to see that our clients are also brand loyal, to a certain degree. I believe that beer marketing and sales is more than just transactions, but the careful cultivation of long-term relationships. Beyond selling beer, my team also manages client relationships, and keeps clients coming back for business or sometimes, with new ideas that we can translate into action.

This year, with the pandemic, presented many challenges to us. We were constantly playing defence, adjusting our actions amidst changes and disruptions. More than ever, we needed to strengthen communication among teams and with our clients. But I am confident: the Jebsen Group has existed for over a century and weathered many storms; the current challenge is just one of our tests. And we are prepared. I guess Ferguson put it best when he said that victory is not the accomplishment of one single MVP or coach – it is built on the contribution of the entire team. As long as we have a jersey on our backs, we look out for one another and uplift one another during hard times. This is the most important leadership lesson I have learned at Jebsen, and it will continue to guide the way I lead the team through challenges today and in the future.