饮料

销售业务的调和之道

捷成员工
卓越成就
Kathryn Taylor – 捷成饮料高级业务经理

新加坡司令是一种混合七种材料的经典调酒,制作繁复,味道令人难以忘怀。如果要我挑选一种最能代表自己的调酒,这种苦中带甜的毡酒鸡尾酒是个不二之选,完美的材料配搭充分表达出我一直以来对工作的价值观。

2017年加入捷成前,我曾负责销售逾2,000款产品。除了日常处理销售数据外,我也希望发挥创意,为产品构思创新的销售概念。正如鸡尾酒不能欠缺作为调酒基底的烈酒一样,如果每天都只忙着应付大量数据,我觉得未能充分发挥所长。因此我渴望担当一个让我既能按部就班,又可以发挥创意思维的岗位。

来到今天,我很兴幸能在捷成找到适合自己的平衡点。身为捷成饮料高级业务经理,我尤其喜欢每天的工作各有不同,文书工作与创意企划完美配合。我不仅将已有的财务知识灵活运用,也同时与其他部门携手合作,处理不同范畴的业务。整体来说,我有时候会坐在办公桌前埋首分析数据及筹划活动,在其余日子则外出工作,将一些崭新构思付诸实行,把我们的产品推广开去。

当务实的商业思维与丰富的想像力相辅相成,也推动我在过往三年屡创佳绩。

举例来说,细致的组织能力有助开拓商机。在我入职后的半年间,我接受了一个重大挑战——重建公司的烈酒品牌组合。为了达成这个庞大的目标,我必须预早筹备及计划好每一个步骤,以免日后被排山倒海的工作所淹没。我首先审慎地拟定周详的时间表,同时利用我的人脉去找出与捷成饮料最为匹配的品牌,最终也顺利完成目标,这也成为我在捷成生涯里的一个主要成就。 2020年,我也运用了这道方程式,成功取得日本著名烈酒品牌宾三得利(Beam Suntory)在香港和澳门的独家代理权。

2019年,我获公司委以重任,全权负责筹办我们全新的清酒活动——“日本清酒醇香世界探索之旅”Sake Walk),活动规模庞大,我也深感荣幸。这项活动吸引了高达3,000名访客参加,接触的顾客人次也数​​以百万计,显著提升了捷成洋酒的品牌知名度。我的团队把项目安排得井然有序,按期达标,并未有像其他大型活动前夕般手忙脚乱,实是一个令人赞叹的集体成果。

每项工作总有困难,我很庆幸能透过掌握一套均衡有序的方式,解决在工作上遇到的各种难题。要在男性主导的行业以及不熟悉的外国市场及企业文化中取得突破,我都一一以高情商应对,并配合数据支持我的决定。作为经理,我也从过往的工作经验中学会“放手”,专注于力所能及的范畴,亦同时引领团队培养良好的工作态度,如敢于挑战、迎难而上等正面心态。

我的同事时常看到我到处奔走、制作新的报表、上班前与朋友教授运动、拓展人脉,以及于不同的兴趣之间游走,而这种周旋于工作与生活之间的平衡,正是令我保持生产力的不二法门。对此我感激捷成给予我各种机会发展所长,将职业生涯所获得的经验及技能融会贯通,让我时刻保持无比专业的状态。展望将来,虽然我即将成为妈妈,但我也非常期待获委派更多职务,建立一个更具规模的团队,与更多国际品牌达成合作关系。我现在犹如一杯新加坡司令,学会在一个竞争激烈的环境中展现自己独有的色彩,在规范与创新之间取得平衡,产生层次多变的发展后劲。

Beverage

Shake Well: Creating Balance to Bring Impact

People
Excellence
Kathryn Taylor – Senior Business Manager, Jebsen Beverage

A classic melange of seven ingredients, the Singapore Sling is complicated to make but impossible to forget. If I were to describe myself in my truest element, this bittersweet gin cocktail reveals the perfect mixture into my professional life.

Before joining Jebsen in 2017, I was working in sales covering over 2000 products. For someone who craved creative freedom, the sales-only job felt limiting. I wanted to nurture ideas too. Working with numbers alone felt like a cocktail with a key ingredient missing. I was simply not delivering to my full potential. In my heart, I knew that my true calling was a role that would let me honour both my love for structure and my creative spirit.

Today, I’m glad to have found this energising balance in my role as Senior Business Manager at Jebsen Beverage. It’s the perfect mix of Excel sheets and more creative engagements. I love that every day is different. I get to use my finance knowledge, while also collaborating with different teams to manage different aspects of our business. I get to work at my desk, analysing data and strategising on some days, and go out, executing new ideas to promote our products on others.

I believe that my number-driven mindset and imagination reinforce each other, enabling me to accomplish big things at Jebsen over the past three years.

For example, I have seen how my knack for organisation can make room for something new. Faced with the very difficult task of rebuilding the company’s spirit portfolio within my first six months here, I knew I had to organise my way through this big target to keep myself from being overwhelmed. I used well-planned timelines to activate my resourcefulness, while leveraging my social network to identify brands that pair best with Jebsen. Successfully rebuilding this portfolio, with structured grace under pressure, became one of the highlights of my career in Jebsen. I similarly applied this balanced formula in securing an exclusive distribution partnership with Beam Suntory in 2020.

In 2019, I was given autonomy to organise our first-ever Sake Walk. It felt great to be entrusted with something so big and pioneering. With 3,000 visitors and an audience reach of over 1 million, we generated major brand awareness. Thanks to the highly structured project plan, my team pulled off these numbers well on schedule, without the kind of last-minute frenzy that normally precedes big events like these. It was an impressive win for everyone.

Naturally, challenges come with every job, but fortunately mastering this balanced approach has empowered me to rise above any professional difficulties. Thriving in a male-dominated industry, as well as dealing with a foreign market and organisational culture, are real challenges that I tackled with data-based and emotionally intelligent choices. As a people manager, I’ve learned to let go of things that are out of my control, while also doing my best to coach my team towards adopting new habits, such as embracing more audacious goals as well as reacting to challenges with an affirming “Yes” rather than a pessimistic “No”.

My colleagues often see me racing around, creating new spreadsheets, teaching sports class before work, networking, and cramming in numerous hobbies in between. This is the kind of balance that keeps me productive. I am able to stay in tip-top shape professionally because I have all these varying ingredients in my career that keep my glass full, and I thank Jebsen for that. I look forward to being entrusted with more—a bigger team and more global brands—while I take on the new role of a mother very soon. Just like a Singapore Sling, I have learned to celebrate my unique hues in a very competitive environment, always stirring in a blend of structure and creativity guaranteed to pack a flavourful punch.