集团

捷成法务部 化繁为简的智慧

捷成员工
卓越成就
周东璇 – 捷成集团法务总监

捷成集团五花八门得令人惊叹,从家中的吸尘机到畅饮的啤酒,各人生活中很大机会总有至少一个捷成旗下品牌的产品。公司部门这么多,要有很多人紧密合作,确保事事运作顺利,而我作为集团法务总监,就负责为公司在众多合同、并购、法律纠纷、知识产权、保险、企业管治之中掌舵。

像我这样的企业法律顾问职务灵活多元,跟律师事务所里各有专门领域的律师有点不同。我的工作涉猎极广,除了跟捷成各部门(如人力资源、信息科技和房地产)交手,还要处理集团极多元化的业务。就好像我本来没想过可以投身名贵房车行业,但这个岗位无意间令我跟汽车销售连结起来。

我刚加入捷成的时候,便要为保时捷在中国的业务周旋于经销商、客户和汽车销售前前后后的合同,这一切都令我大开眼界。中国大陆的汽车销售法规和政策比其他国家更严格,所以我更要努力确保公司合同和政策万无一失。汽车销售和运营同事有赖我们紧密配合,我们作为法律顾问需确保自己对汽车业务了如指掌,可随时随地提供合理的法律意见。这种密切合作也扩展至集团其他业务范围,也即是我们的“内部客户”。例如,我们会定期与营销团队合作,确保所有货品的营销用语洽当,符合当地消费者保护和广告法律法规。

由于很多同事都没受过法律培训,我们的沟通更要清晰直接。身为法律总监,我相信要帮助顾客和内部客户,必须使用清晰和具体的法律用语,因此我主张用浅白的语言(如不用法律术语)去提出意见。如果人家要回电追问同一个意见,即是说我们之前解释得不够清楚。简单直接的用语可以促进沟通,增强工作关系,自然也会赢得尊重。

处理大型项目的时候,畅顺沟通和工作效率变得尤其重要。2018年,捷成集团展开与百威英博在中国大陆的合资计划,预计在6个月内完成。这个大型并购复杂艰巨、时间紧迫,连我们自己的律师都认为要在短时间内完成是难于登天,因此我们空群而出,整个法务部提供全方位法律谘询,从尽职调查、跨境秘书、反垄断法、监管和合规备案,到国际商标转让等服务无所不包,还要跟捷成每个部门通力合作。2019年5月,我们缔造奇迹,甚至比限期前早了一个月完成。这个成果并非偶然,而是得力于各部门紧密协调和锲而不舍,大家全情投入,群策群力,才能人所不能。每天跟这么优秀的团队工作,实在是我的荣幸。

这个艰巨项目只是我云云工作的其中一环,少一点勇气也应付不了,但这种挑战就像我沉迷滑水、单板滑雪和其他极限运动一样,把我推到自己的潜能尽头。但不论是跳过一个巨浪,或是滑下一个雪坡,都及不上捷成法务团队带给我的刺激:不管前路多崎岖,这班热情洋溢的同事永远是我的后盾。

不过,这个团队绝不会因此满足。随着电子商务、人工智能、网络安全、法律规例及顾客品味不断变化,商业环境也日新月异,因此我们要学会随机应变,不断提升自己去赶上行业变化,也要视察不同业务和店铺,才能了解市场脉搏和前线员工。身在捷成,每天都是一门课堂,最适合热爱挑战的人。我期待展开下一个刺激旅程。

Group

Simply Complex: Life at Jebsen’s Legal Department

People
Excellence
Tony Chow – Legal Director, Jebsen Group

Jebsen is a fascinatingly complex organisation. From your vacuum cleaner at home to the beer you drink, chances are, there is at least one of the diverse Jebsen-managed brands in your life. With so many moving parts in the company, it takes a lot of people working closely together to make sure that everything runs smoothly. In my case, I help the company navigate the complex world of contracts, M&A, legal disputes, intellectual property, insurance, corporate governance and more, as the Group’s Legal Director.

Unlike lawyers at law firms who have specialised practice areas, an in-house lawyer like me has to be more versatile. The job involves a broad spectrum, which requires frequent interaction with different Jebsen group functions (from human resources, IT to real estate), as well as Jebsen’s highly diversified businesses. For one, I never imagined that I would have a chance to be part of the luxury auto industry, but as it happens, my current role has given me that chance.

When I joined Jebsen, I found myself in a maze of dealing with dealerships, demanding customers, sales and after-sales contracts for Jebsen Motors, a field that was entirely new to me. Car sales regulations and policies in Mainland China are more stringent than other countries, so I have to work extra hard to ensure our contracts and business practices are airtight. Our Motors’ sales and operation colleagues rely on us to work closely with them and to understand the business inside-out, because that’s how we are able to offer timely and sensible legal advice that is actionable on the ground. This close collaboration also extends to other business lines and functions – our “internal clients.” For example, we liaise regularly with our marketing teams to ensure that our marketing claims for various consumer products are always accurate and credible in compliance with local consumer protection and advertising laws.

Since we work with people who aren’t legally-trained, we put a lot of emphasis on clear and transparent communication. As a Legal Director, I believe that legal terms and advice are valuable to our customers and internal clients only if they are clear, comprehensible and actionable. I actively advocate clarity through plain language (e.g. by avoiding legalese). If someone has to call back to clarify something we advised, then we haven’t made ourselves clear enough. When it comes to communicating and forging great work relationships, clear and plain language always gets results (and gains respect).

Being able to communicate clearly and to work efficiently is critical in large-scale projects. In 2018, Jebsen embarked on a journey to form a joint venture with AB InBev in Mainland China, targeting completion in 6 months. It was a complex and demanding project with tight deadlines, and mega-size M&As like this are often considered “mission impossible” (even by our own lawyers) within such a short period. The project required all hands on deck, involving my entire department in providing seamless legal advice and services – ranging from due diligence to multi-jurisdictional secretarial, anti-trust, regulatory and compliance filings and international trademark transfers. We also had to work with every department across Jebsen. But by May 2019, we achieved the impossible, even completing the project a month ahead of schedule. This success was no accident. It was the tight coordination among departments, consistent tracking of milestones, and highly engaged people and communication that made it possible. I count myself lucky for having the opportunity to work with such a brilliant team every day.

Challenging projects such as this one, like everything else I encounter in my job, is definitely not for the faint of heart. My work reminds me of my passion of wakeboarding, snowboarding and other extreme sports, and that thrill of pushing myself to the limit. But the excitement of jumping wakes or cruising down slopes doesn’t hold a candle to being part of Jebsen’s legal group – working alongside bright, dedicated people and knowing that they always have my back no matter how hard it gets.

Our team cannot rest on its laurels, though. The business landscape is rapidly changing with new developments in e-commerce, artificial intelligence, cyber-security, new laws and regulations as well as constantly changing consumer behaviours. Our job, therefore, is to learn to adapt. We need to continuously develop ourselves professionally to keep abreast with the changes in the industry. We also have to feel the pulse of the market and our frontline staff, visiting our operations and stores to see things first-hand. With Jebsen, every day is a chance to learn something new, and for someone who loves pushing the envelope, I cannot wait to welcome my next big adventure.