消费品

路遥知马力的名牌

捷成员工
事业发展
魏婉盈 – 捷成消费品高级秘书

加入捷成不经不觉25年,我现职消费品高级秘书,是团队内年资较长的同事。在一家公司镇守四分一世纪是怎样的概念?当年我们还用电动打字机,今天全公司只余下一台,我有时找来打合约,上司们经过都笑说声音很亲切。而我入职捷成后第一件买的公司产品,是当年张卫健卖广告的Pentax神镜照相机。

虽说我在公司的职位是秘书,但我的岗位又有点像CASIO手表,平凡实用得来功能百变,我记得1995年入职时,我的部门只有三个人,我何止处理文书工作,亦负责报价、搜集资料和代理ARRI品牌的电影摄影器材。

我很感恩在捷成跟过的四位上司都对我提携有加,在我经验尚浅时循循善诱,到我开始掌握业务时就放手让我独立工作,我觉得一个团队最重要的是互相信任,因为你不单学得更多,而且更有满足感。

我最记得公司于2003年推出耳目一新的CASIO口袋相机时,偏偏遇上沙士疫情。当年我们团队约有十多人,大家各有默契发挥所长:市场营销同事争取传媒曝光,销售同事跟代理商接洽,我这位秘书也不甘坐在办公室,伙同团队上下戴上口罩在街上推广,跟大家在现场招待客户,连代理商也会认得我们团队所有成员。

我们的销售活动在疫情之下获得空前成功,最重要是大家在过程中患难见真情,捷成一向重视人情味,上司也对员工奖赏有道,甚至事后私下赞助我们整个团队去台湾旅行,大家跟着曾在台湾留学的上司旧地重游,对公司的归属感与日增加。

若不是要叙述这些往事,我也没留意自己在这家公司已渡过25个寒暑,也许因为我每天工作得很享受,跟同事融洽得像家人,也因为这些工作令我眼界大开,例如ARRI让我有机会出席电影首映礼、金像奖颁奖礼。我最记得曾在片场亲睹《孤男寡女》的拍摄过程,我相信这并不是每家公司的秘书都有的体验!

刚才提到我的秘书岗位有点像多功能的CASIO手表,而今天的手表还增加了全球定位系统或心跳监测功能,所以当秘书一职也要追上时代步伐。我的工作涉猎越来越多的新技术,不再只处理普通文书工作,还要善用互联网的力量处理各种事务;以前我们只代理数个大型品牌,如今我们的代理的产品种类繁多,更要推广J SELECT自家零售品牌,线上线下工作兼备,因此更要加倍努力。

尽管我在团队里的年资较深,但每个世代的识见和阅历不同,因此我经常向年轻同事学习,跟这些朝气勃勃的年轻一代相处,才可以装备自己与时并进,就像捷成一样路遥知马力。

Consumer

A Time-Tested Brand

People
Development
Jinky Ngai – Senior Secretary, Jebsen Consumer

I have been with Jebsen for 25 years. As Senior Secretary of the Consumer Business Line, I am one of those long-serving employees within the team. What is it like to work in the same company for a quarter of a century, you may ask? To put it in context, consider the fact that back then, we used typewriters for most of our word processing. Nowadays there is only one left in the office, and I sometimes still like to use it for contracts, charming our senior managers with its familiar and endearing sounds. As for the first company product that I purchased after joining Jebsen, it was the Pentax film camera advertised by actor Dicky Cheung back then.

I would compare my role as secretary to a CASIO wristwatch: modestly practical yet functionally versatile. When I joined Jebsen in 1995, there were only three of us in my department. I had to take care of matters beyond the administrative, responsible for also obtaining price quotations, researching, and distributing the ARRI brand’s film and photography equipment.

I am grateful that the four managers I have worked with during my time at Jebsen have all been very supportive of me, patiently guiding me when I was still inexperienced and then letting me work independently as I got a better grasp of the business. In my opinion, mutual trust is the most critical element in a team; it allows you to learn more and feel more fulfilled.

In 2003, we were launching the brand-new CASIO pocket camera, an event that unfortunately coincided with the SARS outbreak. There were about ten of us in the team then, and we all understood to play to our own strengths: colleagues in marketing were striving for media exposure, those in sales liaised with the distributors, and I, the secretary, was not going to just sit around in the office watching the battle from afar. I joined the rest of the team on the streets with our face masks on, doing on-the-ground promotion and attending to potential clients. We were such a strong and coordinated team that even the distributors were able to recognise every single one of us in the team.

In the end, our sales event was tremendously successful despite the epidemic. More importantly, our team bond really shone through the adversity. Jebsen has always prized its people-first culture, and our manager rewarded our hard work by personally sponsoring our whole team on a trip to Taiwan! Our sense of belonging to the company elevated tremendously after he generously toured us around Taiwan, visiting the spots he frequented when he lived there as a student.

These 25 years have flown by and if it were not for these tales, I sometimes forget that I have been here this long. Maybe it is because I enjoy my work so much, working with colleagues who are more like family. The job itself has been an eye-opening experience. I remember once joining ARRI on the set of Needing You… to watch the filming process – surely this isn’t an experience all company secretaries can boast about having!

Earlier I likened my secretarial role to a multi-functional CASIO wristwatch. Well, today’s watches come with added features like GPS and heartbeat monitors; as a secretary I must also catch up with the times. My work is no longer limited to just handling typical administrative paperwork. These days, I also fully utilise the power of the Internet to carry out my job. Before, we used to only represent a few large brands, but now our scope includes diverse types of products as well as our homegrown retail brand J SELECT, requiring extra effort as we have to perform both on- and offline promotion work.

I may have been here for a long time, but each generation brings different insights and experiences. I am always learning from my younger colleagues. Spending time with these energetic young people helps me equip myself to keep up with the times, just as Jebsen always has.