消费品

卓越管理的真正考验

捷成员工
卓越成就
黄丽斯 – 捷成消费品总销售经理

那天是我的EMBA考试,我步试场,脑中反复复习规划策略凝聚团队等在课程中所的概念,信心满满准备迎接进修路上的重要里程碑。不料此时电话响起,我看到来电显示,心顿时沉了下来。

那是同事的来电我们Dyson团队今年最盛大的一场活动是 Dyson Airwrap 造型器的产品发布会,产品上市前早已吸引全球目光,有数以百计的媒体、关键意见领袖KOLDyson粉丝报名出席我们为期三天的活动,我们期盼在活动上创下销售佳绩。我是活动负责人之一,原本打算考试结束后马上去会场准备,但同事在这个时候打电话给我,显然是出了状况,需要我立即处理。

同事告诉我会场的墙壁渗水,可能影响活动效果。我很快下了指示,希望能暂时控制情况,考试后就立马赶过去。通话后我尝试把心思放回眼前的考试上,我自问是个冷静理智的人,但那天我难以专心。

然而,墙壁渗水只是一连串问题的开始。抵达会场后,我得知信用卡付款功能出了问题。Airwrap造型器卖得火热,活动才开始不久就超过在线付款的上限。产品大卖当然是个好消息,但当刻这情况绝对是个危机,毕竟现金付款甚为不便,可能大大降低顾客的购买可是,问题一时三刻无法解决,我们当下唯一能做的,就是尽可能让顾客的不便减到最低。

我们这支Dyson团队23人,分别来自公关、销售、营销、在线销售、视觉营销、电子商务等部门,各有所长,但偏偏没有人专于前线客户服务。这是对整个团队的一个挑战,但同事无不卯足全力。我清楚记得大家在场上穿梭,哪里有需要就马上帮忙,无分彼此。在那当下,我想不出有什么EMBA策略或技巧能化解困境,只能把全副心思放在支持团队上,尽帮忙。我在会场上鼓励每位同事,着他们紧记目标:致力为顾客创造愉快的消费体验。有了这个共同目标,团队上下彷佛打了一剂神奇的强心针,即使超时工作多时也不停歇,再疲惫也要确保活动顺利进行

马不停蹄的三天过去,我们整个团队坐下来回顾活动成我们的销售绩效远超过预定目标,每天都卖出数百件产品,更有客户会花时间Facebook留下:原来有一位顾客的信用卡付款失败好几次,但我们竭诚的服务她印象深刻,使她要这段经历于社交媒体上分享。不过,最重要的还是众人同心协力,一起完成活动,团队的凝聚力飙升,会议室弥漫着浓浓的情谊,是我2018年初加入捷成后感受到最强烈的一次。

我当初选择EMBA是因为想学习如何规划策略,在商场上求胜。这场活动证明了计划永远赶不上变化,但我们也无需害怕。我重的是长期经营,是如何结交、珍惜工作伙伴,一同打造团结的文化,让团队成员随时能为彼此赴汤蹈火,达成任务。这次Airwrap产品发表会之所以业绩告捷,全都要归功于团队成员合作无间,也证明了我一直以来规划的策略正确。

至于那次EMBA考试,我也取得满意的成绩。不过回想起那一天,最教我印象深刻的依然是团队受到重视,因而所发挥惊人潜力。作为一名经理,我把这宝贵一课谨记于心。

Consumer

The True Test of Management Excellence

People
Excellence
Liz Wong – Sales & Marketing Manager, Jebsen Consumer

Strategic planning and team-building are some of the things you learn in EMBA courses. Those were also the concepts churning in my mind just before my recent EMBA exam, and I was feeling confident, ready to take on this milestone moment in my education when my phone rang. My heart sank when I saw the caller ID.

My colleague was calling from the site of our biggest event of the year: the Dyson Airwrap product launch. Capturing the world’s attention long before it came onto the market, the Airwrap’s 3-day official launch was set to draw hundreds of media, KOLs and fans, and we expected a huge sales turnout. I was one of the key project leads. I had planned to be there right after my exam, but apparently, something needed my attention right away.

Water was seeping through the walls at the venue, my colleague told me. Not a good start. I gave some quick instructions for holding the situation over until I got there, then shifted my focus back to the task at hand – the exam. I have always been calm and rational, but that day even I found it difficult to concentrate.

The seepage turned out to be just the first of our problems. Arriving at the venue, I learned that we had trouble accepting credit card payments, too. The Airwraps were selling so quickly, we maxed out our daily online payment limit well before the event was over. Happy problem? Yes. Was this a potential crisis? A resounding yes – the inconvenience of using cash might drive some customers away. But there was no quick fix. Our only option was to make the process as painless as possible for our customers, given the circumstances.

The 23-strong Dyson team onsite included people from PR, sales, marketing, online sales, visual marketing and e-commerce, all with different skillsets that unfortunately did not, for the most part, include frontline customer service. This was tricky for all of us. But everyone pulled their weight. I remember all of us flitting around the room, jumping in to help wherever we were needed regardless of the task. At that moment I could not think of an EMBA strategy or technique that would get us out of our bind. I just wanted to support the team as much as I can. I went around and encouraged everyone to keep a disciplined focus on our key purpose: to create a pleasurable buying experience for customers. This unified goal became the miracle tonic that kept us going, and people worked well beyond their shifts to keep things running despite their exhaustion.

After three whirlwind days, we regrouped to review what we achieved. An above-target sales performance, with hundreds of units sold each day. A detailed, glowing Facebook review from one particular customer who, after multiple failed attempts to pay by credit card, still felt so impressed with our heartfelt service that she just had to share her experience with the world. Above all, the thrill of pulling through this mega event together has super-charged our bond as a team, and our comradery soared through the room – the strongest since I joined Jebsen in early 2018.

I signed up for an EMBA because I wanted to learn about planning for success in modern business. This event proves that things will not always go according to the agenda, and that’s OK. I have always been more interested in the longer-term process of connecting with people, cherishing them and building a culture where people are ready to jump through hoops for one another to get the work done. Conquering the Airwrap launch as a team shows that I have been planning the right way all along.

As for my exam? I was happy with my grade in the end. But when I look back on this day, I will always see the greater lesson as the amazing power of a team that feels empowered and valued. And that is the lesson I will take with me as I continue to develop as a manager.